Newly-Elected MSEA Leaders to Focus on the 2017–2018 Educators’ Agenda

When MSEA’s Board of Directors meets in September to discuss the 2017–2018 Educators’ Agenda, five new faces will be seated at the table, the largest turnover in many years. Newcomers Erika Strauss Chavarria, Howard, and Brian Donoughe, Howard, were elected to the NEA and MSEA boards of directors. They will join Russell Leone, Anne Arundel, and Jake Zebley, Cecil, as Maryland’s representatives on NEA’s Board of Directors.

Joining incumbent Michelle Alexander, Montgomery, on MSEA’s Board of Directors are first-time directors Robin Beers, Anne Arundel, Donna Christy, Prince George’s, and Linda Firman, Howard. Christy is the first school psychologist to sit on the board of directors. See the official results here.

Meet the Newly Elected Members of MSEA’s Board of Directors
Including five new first-time statewide

The 2017–2018 board will be led by President Betty Weller and Vice President Cheryl Bost, and newly elected treasurer Joe Coughlin, Baltimore County. An election at the MSEA Representative Assembly October 20–21will fill the director position left by Coughlin’s election to treasurer.

MSEA’s Newly Elected Delegates to the 2017 NEA Representative Assembly Members elected 24 at-large delegates, 33 regional delegates, and one administrator delegate to the NEA Convention on June 30–July 5 in Boston. These members will help set the association’s national agenda, policies, and activities for the 2017–2018 year. Find your regional repre- sentatives here.

MSEA–Retired Elects NEA Delegates and Council Members Members of MSEA–Retired elected veteran activists Susie Jablinske, Betty Coleman, Marcella Kehr, and Phyllis Parks Robinson as representatives to the NEA Convention. They also elected Betty Coleman and Barbara Tyler to its Retired Advisory Council. See results here.

Who Got Out the Vote? The top 10 counties with the highest percentage of voting members were: Charles, Howard, Harford, St. Mary’s, Anne Arundel, Carroll, Prince George’s, Montgomery, Frederick, and Cecil.